The Latin word sacramentum means “a sign of the sacred.”

The seven Sacraments are signs that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Christians. They are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence. That’s what theologians mean when they say that sacraments are at the same time signs and instruments of God’s grace.

If you learn more about the Sacraments, you can celebrate them more fully. To learn more about the individual Sacraments, please follow the links below. You’ll find easy-to-understand articles and a good sample of common questions and answers.

The Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church:

1. Baptism
2. Eucharist
3. Confirmation
4. Holy Matrimony
5. Reconciliation
6. Anointing of the Sick
7. Holy Orders
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram